Posted by: eheino | March 19, 2014

EER500 – Initial Thoughts

When I first started this subject a few weeks ago I had mixed feelings. On one hand, I was excited to be learning about how to research, particularly because my husband is currently undertaking his PhD so I thought learning about the process he was going through would be interesting, and perhaps I could help him with some tips about how to go about his research. On the other hand, I have always had issues with nailing down an area of interest, and committing to doing in depth study on any particular topic. My attention span for any one topic is pretty small, and I like to know a little about a lot of things rather than a lot about one thing. So I thought nailing down a topic for me to study during this subject would be a challenge.

As I started to explore possible topics, I discovered I was right about the vast number of interesting topics available to study, and I struggled to decide what to do. Initially I thought I would do something about the importance of Children’s Literature to literacy development, since I had found topics similar to this quite interesting in ETL402. I also thought doing something about the changing role of the Teacher Librarian would be interesting, and I knew it was a hot topic at the moment with lots of current research to refer to.

Eventually I decided on researching the benefits of mobile technology in the mathematics primary curriculum compared to the use of physical material. I had noticed that most schools I have seen that use tablets, mostly used them for game apps, and I wondered whether this was more or less beneficial than using physical materials to learn and practice mathematics. It was more difficult than I expected to find information and research on this subject, I would have thought more than just me would be interested in it, but there wasn’t much to be found. Eventually I found 3-4 recent articles in the area to use for my research.

Thus far I am pleased with my decision to use this topic for my research. It will be interesting to see how my research topic evolves as I move into Assignment 1b.

Leave a Reply

Categories

